Witness to a Kiss

 

 

The night sky

the only witness

to our first kiss

the stars

the man in the moon

looking down at us

I stood in your arms

quivering with anticipation

and the stars twinkled in delight

you leaned in to capture my lips with yours

My joy was overwhelming

I felt my feet might leave this earth

and I would  become one with the heavens

But you held onto me tightly

I knew your arms were where I was meant to be

Since that night the man in the moon

has waxed and waned many times

has seen millions of lovers

and witnessed other kisses

Yet I can’t help but believe

that when he looks back

on this night and us

that like me

he smiles

 

 

Leave a Reply

