Dandelion Wishes

I came upon a field of dandelions

And a thought passed through my mind

Perhaps this is not a pasture of weeds

But a meadow of a thousand wishes

Each blossom made by someone who closed their eyes

Then quietly whispered their dreams

and sent the white downy fluff cascading

their wishes floating, wafting on the wind

I wondered what they may have wished for

If any of their desires came true

If something as simple as exhale of breath

upon a seed could truly be magical

So I plucked a stem from the earth

I pressed my lips together and gently blew

And I made the wish that lives in my heart

That you would be mine 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

