Lonely Rendezvous

Meet me in the clover, you said
in the field beyond the barn
We will have a midnight picnic
I’ll hold you in my arms
Bring some wine to make a toast
a blanket to sit beneath the tree
I will kiss your ruby lips
Be sure to wait for me
I was wild with anticipation
waiting for you to come around
The night breeze whispered to me
It was such a lonely sound
Are you waiting on your love it asked
Yes, I replied ,he’ll be here soon
But time kept slipping by
Till the heavens gave up the moon
Darkness surrendered to the morning
Too soon the sky turned blue
Then sadness overtook me
A lonely rendezvous

Leave a Reply

