Today I bathed in an ocean of nostalgia
each tender memory akin to a lap of water warm against my skin
The feel of our lips pressed together for the first time
each loving embrace in the strength of your arms
The hesitancy of our dance as we reached for one another to become one
each and every sweet recollection of us swimming through my mind
I was buoyant with the bliss only you could bring to me
Then the turbulent waves of the present crowded my mind
the awareness of you being gone from my life
Sadness filled my heart making it heavy as a stone
pulling me down into the darkest depths of reality
I cried as I struggled to bring my self back to the surface
back to the remembrance of happier times but to no avail
I surrendered to the truth and drown in a sea of despair

2 thoughts on “Drowning

Leave a Reply

